Student Online Portfolio Theme Questionnaire

Preface:
I’m currently studying computer science. Going through design school and well into working as an in-house designer, I had a hard time finding a Wordpress theme that didn’t make only having a few projects seem inadequate. So for a personal/ case-study project, I want to develop a Wordpress theme that is easy to adapt to a student’s design style, while displaying portfolio pieces (even if only as little as two(2)), that get art directors and whoever else from index.html > I want to at least talk to this person.

Questions for Students or Recent Grads:
1.) Is there already a theme that you use that is exactly what you were looking for with little to no code changes, and what features or styling was the reason you chose it?
2.) Is there a theme that you really wanted to use but couldn’t, and why, either styling or features?
3.) Is there anything specific that all themes you’ve looked at seem to miss with those who may lack a certain amount of projects to display?
4.) Do you even want to bother messing with hosting your own Wordpress Site and you use sites like Behance etc?

Questions for Hiring Managers and Art Directors:
1.) What are some the characteristics of online presentations that always seem to catch your eye?
2.) What are some problems you encounter with students and recent grads in their choice of online theme that prevent or don’t excite you enough to look through a portfolio site?
3.) How are you offering an opening to job seekers mainly?
4.) Have you usually already seen a resume and THEN visited their portfolio site, or are you looking through applicants sites and THEN wondering about their experience depending on their work?

Thanks for those that have replied and feel free to make additional comments or insights.

Speaking from the perspective of an art/creative director, much depends on the position for which this person is applying.