Student vs. Client

Hi guys, I’m a student in my senior year. I ended up having someone reach out with a wonderful trade of services for a book design done for housework in return. However I’m in a bit of a conundrum and not sure what to do.

He won’t give me any relevant information, not even a page count so i can work out a potential contract + hours to be spent on it. He won’t tell me how long it is, what he wants, nothing except a book he likes and what his book needs to do, ‘be a message’. I have asked four times for a page count just so I can see if i can do this while in school, but he doesn’t seem to care that I have other obligations.

He wants this done in Microsoft Word, not in Adobe Indesign because he read an article to do it this way. He doesn’t seem to get that you tell me what you want, I take it, I work it, then i show him the stepping stones to the final project and he provides feedback along the way when it is relevant. If we meet, he wants me to quote, find the physical nature of the book, graphics, research, formatting, sketches, and etc.’ in this meeting. I can’t afford a laptop that would be able to provide what he wants, such as showing him Indesign running and stuff, but I do have a computer at home, which is where I do most of my work, alone and in the dark.

I guess what I am asking is, what would you do with this client? I don’t know how many positive ways I can ask to please give me some information that is actually relevant to the work. My professors taught me to be adamant about consultations, but this guy just keeps overstepping me. And because I’m young, contracts are a lot more important because I struggle with them, they aren’t in my muscle memory. I don’t know how to handle someone who wants to hire a designer but yet fights me to have it his way only, or the highway.