Studying design, tips?

So I’m in my first year in University and I’m going to study Visual Communications 1 for the second semester to go into my bachelors hopefully design related next year. I was wondering what tips you guys have for me, like what you wish you knew before going into this field etc. What sort of program do you use the most? I was thinking about saving up for an IPad pro and do designs on procreate, I heard and seen that adobe, even though is industry standard, made a lot of designers give up on their platforms and use alternative applications. Is adobe worth it?

Thank you so much for the help!

Can you define “visual communication?”

Start looking for a job or internship in the field now. Even if it’s just a printshop or signshop.
Don’t wait for your senior year internship.

Hardware and software are only tools. Practice is always required to become proficient. While Adobe is a PITA, it is still industry standard. If you aren’t up on the workarounds to make alternatives work, you might want to stick to what works in the output world until you’ve gained some chops.

Can you do design on an iPad pro? I have trouble handling some designs sent to me with a laptop tower and 2 large monitors (but I do work in large format print world.) Good luck with that.

As @PrintDriver said, Adobe CC is the standard. Stick with it for now. Most companies wouldn’t hire you if you had no Adobe CC experience (assuming you’re not in a part of the world that Adobe is not as standard.)

I would wait until you get into your design classes next year. You will (should) get more advice on what you need for the program. I would not get an iPad and procreate for your education, however, if you personally just want and can afford it, then go for it.

1 Like