Stupid Question

I am so sorry to ask this. I feel like such an idiot, but I am self-taught. What is the difference between an SVG and an EPS file? Both are vectors files, correct? When would I use one over the other, or vice versa? I have to send a client a T-shirt design that I made in Photoshop and vectorized in Illustrator, and I’m trying to figure out what format he needs the final design to be in.

You are correct, they are both vector formats, but SVG (scalable vector graphics) are usually better used for online applications and EPS files (encapsulated postscript) are better for print. As the name suggests, they contain all the postscript information for printing. However, EPS is becoming outdated. Better to use PDF or even AI. EPS is still OK to send to print, though – as long as it is all set up correctly, of course.

1 Like

SVG (Scalable Vector Graphics) is a simple vector file format largely used for the web. EPS (Encapsulated PostScript) is an older, mostly obsolete PostScript vector format that can also contain raster data. This made it possible to send both PostScript and raster data through early PostScript RIPs — for example, an Illustrator file with an embedded TIFF.

Maybe.
EPS may contain vector, or raster, or both.
SVG supports linked raster images.

EPS is effectively obsolete. Some graphics vendors still use it as a generic exchange format, but in your creative work, you should only use it if some part of a legacy workflow demands it.
SVG is intended for work that will appear on-screen, and is useful for applications that utilize “responsive” layouts.