Tips for designing a construction fence wrap?

Hey everybody.
I’m not actually new here, but it’s been awhile, SO.
I’ve been a freelance/in-house illustrator and designer for about 10+ years and recently acquired my first out-of-state client. It started off easy enough with a fun little brochure, but the second project is apparently a wrap for a 120’ section of construction fencing around their new building site (that I will never see), and frankly, I’m not even sure where to start. Has anyone done a project like this, and could you share some tips on file set-up, scale and any other surprises one might encounter? Postcards, t-shirts and websites I understand, but this is a new adventure.
Thanks!

This is considered wide format printing.
Fence hordings are usually done on a mesh material, but might also be vinyl with wind cuts (not as common as no one wants their fence to blow down.)
At 120’ long, working in 1:10 scale is probably easiest (you can work in inches and just move the decimal over 1 place.)

Is it copy? Or imagery? Billboard resolutions apply to imagery so anywhere from 30-50ppi at full size works (working in 1:10, that’s 300-500ppi.)

There’s a lot more to it, so it would be best to be able to get the specs from the printer doing the printing. See if your client can get you the file submission specs too. A lot of wide format printers want native files, especially when scaling is involved, not PDFs.
I also expect since 120’ approaches an entire roll of media, you may be looking at doing this in stitched or perimeter grommeted sections. Some fences are done by sections between uprights. You may need to know the width of the sections to avoid losing any text in the gaps between grommetted panels.

Do not forget your bleeds. They will be larger than you think. If paneled, 2" all around. If it’s a full run of 120’ I’d give it an extra 6" each end (12 total) that will likely be cut off.

Good luck.

1 Like