Typography assistance

Hi guys, i’m a graphic design student and i got a task which i spent so much time and still can’t figure it out.
Please help me to find some solution or any ideas.

Screen Shot 2020-03-15 at 23.45.54

based on the next concept, i need to make it 2 with 2 of the cities below:
NEW YORK
LAS VEGAS
AMSTERDAM
TEL AVIV
MADRID
ROME
TEHERAN
TOKYO
HAVANA
CAIRO

Thanks!

i would just grab a pencil, tablet and tinker with the cities and a type that resembles their character. I would stay away from typical things like apple-NYC etc.
Have fun!

unfortunetly, i need just to make a small change to the lettering, in illustrator with same font which make it much harder, i wish i just can make it by drawing on a piece of paper!

Start by drawing on a piece of paper.

I trying to figure it for about 4-5 days and tried everything and nothing really comes out that is why im asking for help of any ideas.

will this one work in your opinion? FOR NEW YORK.
y standing for sign the for Statue of Liberty? does it remains from it?

again , my mission is just playing with lettering.Screen Shot 2020-03-16 at 0.52.51

Google famous monuments or attractions in each city. It should jog your creativity to see photos.

I think you’ll need to decide how much you can alter the letters. If it were me, I’d alter them more than you’ve done, but then I don’t know the exact assignment.

Here are some quick ideas that I spent almost no time on. With a little research, you can do better.

• New York — Make the letters different heights to represent the skyline
  • Las Vegas — The S could be a $ sign fading away as in losing one’s money
  • Amsterdam — The letters in the word could look like a bridge over the canals
  • Tel Aviv — it’s known for it’s Bauhaus Architecture and lots of palm trees
  • Madrid — The Puerta de Alcala is shaped like a M
  • Rome — The Colosseum is round, like the O in Rome
  • Teheran — The Azadi Tower looks like an A