Upgrading my body: mirrorless or not?

Before you jump on the “mirrorless, no other way to go!” bandwagon, hear me out…

I have been shooting on a D7100 for quite a few years. I’m just a hobbyist, nothing fancy. I have a Nikkor 18-200 (not kit), and a Sigma 150-600 which I use to shoot birds when I have the time. Both big investments for me when I bought them. A friend just offered me a brand new, never-used Sigma 105 macro for $400.

My camera body is getting beat up and I’m thinking by the end of this year or next, I want to get a new D7500 body. My budget is really not more than $1k.

I know there are lens adapters for mirrorless that have a small effect on shutter speed (kinda important for birds) and I’m not keen on having to upgrade/invest my lenses. In fact, I don’t have the funds to. But everyone I talk with says “mirrorless, mirrorless, mirrorless.” Would I be a complete idiot to go with the D7500 for the next 5-6 years? Or for my purposes, would it be fine?

Great question.

It seems like the issues with the early mirrorless cameras have been overcome at this point, and there’s no doubt that the industry is going mirrorless.

I used to pay attention to reviews and “influencers,” and, to be honest, they were doing their job well. They made me left out for not having a mirrorless body. Then I stopped paying attention and giving a flying flip, and I am a lot happier and more content with my current body, which is an almost 10-year-old D610.

So I say figure out what is best for you personally — that could be a DSLR or it could be mirrorless —and be happy. If you were to hop over to Nikon’s Z platform (or any other mirrorless body), you’d get some great shots. But you can also get some great shots with a D7500.

1 Like