Upgrading Skill Set

The writing has been on the wall for quite some time now that I need to upgrade my skill set. I’ve been happily working in my print design bubble for 25 years. Recently, however, many of those long-standig bubbles have begun to pop. And I’m finding new clients want to bundle web and interactive design with their print requests.

Looking into it is a little overwhelming. Do I focus on UI / UX? Web design? Coding? What? Is there one area that’s more of a natural fit for an experienced print designer?

And where best to do this? Online courses? Community colleges? Just start teaching myself somehow, somewhere and plow through? I’m a little long in the tooth to go for a formal four year program, but some sort of accreditation?

I am also an illustrator and am hoping to shift my focus more into that realm but, in the meantime, the bills do have to get paid.

Any advice, suggestions, thoughts on all of the above are gratefully accepted. Thanks!

The natural place for a designer to head is into front-end web design, which can be referred to as UI/UX. The most marketable UI/UX designers also know their way around HTML5/CSS3, so to answer your question: all of the above is where you might consider focusing.

As for how to learn it, well, everyone learns differently. I tend to learn this kind of thing by doing. Others prefer a more structured, formal program. In the end, though, it takes a whole lot of work with lots of frustrating hours spent figuring things out, which is where the real learning (and remembering) takes place.

1 Like

Or you think about hiring a sub-contractor…

There’s stuff I print that I don’t do the installs. I hire in guys who do it 8 hours a day, 5 days a week. Doing this gives my client the best possible result.

1 Like