Using famous brand logos in your design

Hello

I was thinking of using famous brand logos such as Coca Cola or Nasa or Mc Donalds in my Artwork?
Any idea if it is okay to do so?

If I were to use let us say coca cola logo then which option may I use? Please see attached 3 options.

Also, see these as references I found online where they sell work using famous logos:

https://tinyurl.com/y3smc9b3

Absolutely not! Not without agreement of the copyright holder and a licence to do so.

You can’t make money using somebody else’s copyright material. It’s theft as sure as gong into a shop and stealing a can of coke, or a pair of Nikes. Their logos are part of their capital.

The only exception under copyright law is ‘fair use’. If, for example, you were writing a critical piece on the evolution of the coke logo since its inception, the fair use clause would allow you to show examples. That’s my understanding. I am not a copyright lawyer. It is a minefield.

The golden rule – and the safest route with getting your pants sued off you – is; if you didn’t design it (or have an explicit licence), don’t use it.

1 Like

NASA, by the way, is a rare exception, in that most (you’d have to check re their logo) of their material is copyright free. In that, they have the copyright (it is automatically assigned to the creator if any material), but they put it into the public domain.

That really is a rare exception to the rule.

You could probably just say COLA as that is not an infringement. Although be careful to distinguish it from other -Cola brands.

NASA - you could just use SPACE - but make it significantly different.

@atjgraphics Nah mate, you can’t do that. You’ll definitely get sued.

In the US, the Coca Cola logo is Trademarked. It’s a far different violation from ‘copyright’ and can lead to higher damages against you. And Coca Cola, like Disney or the MLK estate are not shy about going after ‘the little guy.’ Usually it’s only a matter of time.