Using PDFs (or alternative) on mobile devices

I am a traditional print designer and most comfortable with using DTP to create static (with links) layouts.

I want to create data based documents for use on iPad, iPhone and Android devices, preferably the one set of documents for all.

I can create quite complex pdfs to do what I want, but one thing I don’t know how to do or if it is possible, that is to have long scrolling documents. ie have the document fit to width and be scrollable vertically. when I try to create these they fit vertically with wasted space horizontally.

Any tips or suggestions? I’m happy to change my production methods as needed. If I have to create the documents as flexible CSS documents I’ll do it, just that they are not WYSIWYG for the most part and add the complication of the changing layouts and much slower to produce for me.

Stop thinking PDF; start thinking HTML5.

1 Like

HTML5 is not WYSIWYG.

It is cumbersome, slow, complicated to create and requires a browser to view

But if it’s the right tool for the job?

I think the points I made suggest it isn’t necessarily “the right tool for the job”.

Especially when you have to create a very large amount of material quickly and simply.

I can create an enormous amount of material in minutes, looking exactly the way I want, where marking it up in HTML, despite the tools that are supposed to help, is like working in treacle, dragging a cinder block, with a bag over my head.

I like simplicity and clarity in delivered products. I use mostly Apple products and you can view and search PDFs very quickly, without using Apps whose UI gets in the way.

Can you suggest something that isn’t a CodeMangler like DreamWeaver or something that just sucks money out of your pocket like RapidWeaver?