Using Rich Black where there is text & fine detail

Ok, so I have this “issue” per se. I’ve designed a “postcard” where the front is a photo that uses a lot of rich black. I want to match the back of that postcard with the same black because I know flat black will be not match the front. The card will be printed matte on both sides using VistaPrint.

So while I know this as a designer, I am trying to find the best way to get that rich color to be the same on both sides. There is plenty of thin and small text along with some fine lines. I’m worried about rich black bleeding into those details even though VistaPrint customer service assured me that using 60/60/60/100 percentage will be fine and that they do it all the time.

They won’t give me a physical proof or even a photo of one. Does anyone have any suggestions? I can’t show the exact file due to the privacy of my client here. But I can mock up something similar if need be.

Rich black is excellent for larger areas of flat black, but for text and hairlines, um, no, as in never do it.

The CMY can be trapped into the black by a point or two for larger areas, but that isn’t practical for text or thin lines. As a result, you’ll run the distinct risk of having some of the CMY ink showing around the edges of the text.

In addition, it’s just not necessary. A 100%K for text will look pretty much the same as if it were a perfectly registered rich black.

As for VistaPrint, they’re an online gang printer that probably thinks that kind of attention to detail doesn’t matter. They print whatever comes in, and their standards aren’t high.

4 Likes

You could edit the color in the image for under color removal.

Setting the black in the photo to be 50 percent cyan and 100 percent black.

Then make your rich black the same.

Should be ok.

1 Like

100 percent agree.

I’d much rather deal with a local print shop