Visual Communications Research Trip Ideas

Hello everyone!

I am a Visual Communications major at a small liberal arts school. I have a travel grant from my college that I can use to design an educational travel experience (“educational” used loosely- it has to have some learning associated with it but it doesn’t have to be deep). I am struggling to think of a place to go because unlike biology students, who can use travel to learn about different types of animals, or music students, who can travel to attend music programs, I can’t think of any specific visual communication related travel. There is visual communication everywhere in the world, so it doesn’t seem that there is any benefit to going to a different location to study it (correct me if I’m wrong). I am relatively new to the visual communications/graphic design world, so maybe I do not know the field enough to know the possibilities out there. I would like to stay away from a “tour of art museums” type of trip.

Are there any trips/research locations that you can think of that relate to visual communication? If you were in my situation, what trip would you design for yourself? I want to do something that relates to my major and my future job field, but if I can’t think of anything I will have to think of a different focus for my trip. Any advice is appreciated!

Ooh, a fun thing to think about. This falls into the brainstorm category, not all may be applicable or feasible, but they should get you going.

Burning Man – Not my cup of tea, but people seem to like it and an interesting visual journey.

Design Weeks – Our local AIGA chapter puts on a design week that is a week’s worth of lectures, studio tours, networking events, etc. I’d assume there are other chapters that do this as well. I’m pretty sure ours is in the spring.

SXSW – I only have a cursory idea of the type of content there. Maybe this one wouldn’t be applicable.