Way To Practice

Hello everyone,
I am currently a student hoping to be a graphic designer. Unfortunately the program starts next year so I’ve really been groping on my own. Is there a way I can practice? I’m currently reading books and watching videos on the basics of graphic design.

1 Like

Others here might disagree in part, but looking at books, paying attention, and watching videos is probably all you should do at this point.

Years ago, in my design program, the first year was called the Foundation Program. Part of its purpose was to disabuse the students of their preconceptions about design, art, and what was or wasn’t good. The idea behind that approach was to start everyone off with a clean slate without the naive artistic ideas of an uneducated kid interfering with learning the right way to do things.

I thought it was a bit nutty at the time, but when I think back on what I thought graphic design was all about and what was good and bad was completely reorganized and turned on its head during that first year.

In hindsight, it was for the better. The trouble with practicing without a structured program or a mentor is that the teacher (you) doesn’t know anything more about it than the student (you). That’s a recipe for picking up bad habits that take time to lose.

I’d stay away from crowdsourcing. You’ll pick up counterproductive habits and attitudes from doing that. If it were me, as I said, I’d concentrate on books and other materials, and I’d make sure they came from legitimate sources and not from some kid in his parent’s basement showing step-by-step instructions on how to do flashy stuff.

^That.