Web developer asked for "negative logo"

Hello all,

I am very new to graphic design (and all self-taught).

I have created a blue logo for a company but their website background is an image with the sea- also kinda blue. So the logo is not very visible.
The web developer has said I should send a “negative version” of the logo.

Does this mean just reversing the colors? Or does this mean I should re-create the logo with all black?

I’ve tried looking for answers on google, but I’m not really finding what I need.
Some sources say just invert the colors, but that seems weird since the logo includes a sun and waves (the logo is for a travel agency) and if I invert the colors, the waves turn pink and the sun turns purple. Which doesn’t really make sense. Unless there is some background process web developers do with the negative image?

Thanks so much!

The colour logo is fine on a white or pale background, but

• to go on a photo or a dark background a white only version is required (with a transparent background)
  • for invoices and internal documents a greyscale version is often preferred for cost reasons

It is standard practice when creating a logo to create several versions for different uses.

Thanks for the reply!

But I still haven’t found out what the developers mean by “negative version”.
The company was vehement on a blue logo. I’ve tried presenting white and black logos but they said they want it blue.

Negative often means drop-out. But it still won’t solve the problem. If you knock the logo thru a blue square, for instance, it is still going on a blue background. Not helpful.
They could also mean white on a blue signblank. Something to separate the actual logo from the background.
If you are unsure what they mean, ask them to show you an example.