What do you prefer WordPress or Joomla?

Hello,

I need to create a website for my online shop but I have no experience.

How do you think what will be easier for beginner WordPress or Joomla?

Thanks for your reply,

Curly

1 Like

I prefer WordPress. However, given that you have no experience, I’d strongly suggest you look into more of a canned solution like Shopify.

1 Like

Easiest for beginners and most designers is WordPress, which is why I suspect it’s so popular.

However, I greatly prefer Joomla for several dozen different reasons and will always use it unless the client specifically requests WordPress.

The main reason I dislike WordPress is because, beneath the surface, it’s blogging software that’s been adapted, twisted and coerced to do more than blogging. Despite it’s malleability, whenever I need to design something in it, that whole blog-like underpinning is a constant annoyance that places limits on what I’d like to do.

Joomla, despite its relative complexity and learning curve, does not have this problem — it’s built for more general purpose websites. Oddly enough, I’m working on a Joomla site now where the client has a small portion of the site in which they want to have a blog. Joomla itself isn’t ideally suited for blogging and requires add-ons for that, so I added a WordPress component inside Joomla, which sort of works, but I’m really hating it. I’m still looking for a better solution.

2 Likes

Thank you for your reply, its really helpful.

Thank you for your detailed reply, I have to think about it.

Where do you usually buy WP themes? Can you recommend
a website?

There are other sources, but those two are good places to start for an ecommerce theme.

1 Like