What is Lean UX?

Like…what specifically makes it “lean”?

Hi, I’m brand new to the tech/graphic design world. I’m going for my bachelor’s degree right now but looking to get into design. Lot of quick questions and looking for a good mentor. Since this is a new site I thought this wouldn’t be too basic of a question to ask…

2 Likes

What makes it lean is not overdoing it. Less is more.

1 Like

I think ‘lean design’ doesn’t refer to a design style. It has nothing to do with minimalism.

The word lean comes from the lean software development (LSD) and lean manufacturing principles. It’s a work process, which focuses on efficiency, immediacy and not fearing to try new things.

Hope someone can explain it better. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

UX is short for User eXperience, and was coined as a term used primarily in software development, meaning…uhmm…user experience. Or, to be clear, that which a user of software experiences during use (as opposed to whatever experience might be presupposed of the user). From what I can see, “UX” has become a specialty of sorts, perhaps akin to “screenwriting,” in which the UX Designer makes design decisions that dictate the course of this or that usage scenario. It appears to have become a sub-discipline of software engineering.