What is the process creating package design?

I’m new to package design, So I don’t know the process on how would you create a package. If you can give me some advice that would be great.

Depends on the product, the market demographic and the cost.
I realize this is the student forum but…
Have you done any research into packaging design at all?
Give us some more details on what you are trying to accomplish.

I plan on doing another brand identity project on a hair care line for textured hair thats affordable. Like a shampoo, conditioner, deep conditioner, leave-in-conditioner, and moisturizer bottles. What I want to accomplish is designing a clean, and simple. I have not hardly done any research because I’m currently working on a restaurant project. But, I wanted to know what would be the process if I were to do more complex packaging design.

Before anything else, find out any and all regulatory limitations (if applicable) and requirements.

Then, base on the contents, come up with mock-ups.

Then, start the creative process. Chances are, the print vendor will be your most important partner. The client, however, will be your worst nightmare.

What do you mean by regulatory limitations and requirements? I don’t have a client(yet) this is a project I’m doing to put in a portfolio.

That doesn’t give you reason to not pay heed to any product that is public health related, controlled, or security involved. What if, somewhere down the line, you land a job of packaging toilet cleaner or pharmaceutical drug? Is it not to your interest you should know about all this before hand rather than finding it out when it’s too late? Even a small child’s toy cannot escape scrutiny.

Think warning label, nutrition contents, caution procedure, etc.

1 Like