What is this UI component called?

uicomponent

It works as an alternative to a dropdown/picker/switch.

I don’t know of any name for these kinds of buttons, but I’m a little confused by them.

What are the arrows on either side supposed to do? On the top button, I’m assuming that
repeatedly clicking on one or the other will cause the ratio to change in a series of incremental steps.

However, that doesn’t appear to be the case with the on/off buttons since there are no incremental steps in toggling between on and off.

I agree with Just-B. I would need to see some context to better understand the function of these buttons in order to be able to figure out what they might be called. Most of them are on/off so I assume they’re just a sort of switch.

Hey, sorry for the late reply.

I’m a student who’s making a game for their game development course. At the moment I’m working on the settings menu but I’m having trouble naming one my prefabs. It looks and works identically to what you see in the example above.

I’ve seen many different games use this UI component and I can’t figure out why. The ones from the example above are from a game called Overwatch. In the example, the first component is for the monitor’s aspect ratio. What’s confusing is that some of the settings in Overwatch use drop-downs, so then why doesn’t the aspect ratio setting use a drop-down as well?

Well, from what I’ve noticed, changes made to settings that use drop-downs require the user to manually apply/save said changes before the game and UI can update accordingly. On the other hand, settings that use the component from the example are automatically applied/saved as soon as changes are made.

So, if I had to guess, the reason why the aspect ratio setting uses the component from the example instead of a drop-down is to allow the display resolution setting (which uses a drop-down) to only display the options that are compatible with the currently selected aspect ratio.