What laptop would you recommend?

Hi,
I’m a graphic designer working from home, I’ve been told by my employer to return in the office 2/3 times a week. I work on a iMac and have been for the last 7 years, it’s been so reliable and haven’t had any problems with it, so I’d like to upgrade to something like this but in laptop form. Just so it’s easier for me to pop into the office when needed.

Anyone recommend a decent laptop that I can use for the next 7 years? I’d like to keep with apple if I can, but interested to hear what you guys recommend.

Thanks for your time

At a previous job, I was in much the same situation of working from home and at the office/studio. I can’t recommend one machine over another since everyone’s needs and preferences are different, but I can share some of my thoughts.

Assuming you still want a Macintosh, you can either get a 13- 14- or 16-inch model with a choice of processors, memory, and storage space.

Will you be using the laptop’s display as your main display or will you be plugging it into a larger desktop display at work and home? For me, even a 16-inch display is way too small for serious work, so I always purchased separate desktop displays and opted for a more compact mid-sized laptop to carry back and forth.

I’ve never needed more than 1TB of internal disc space since I keep all my work on compact removable drives that I easily carried to and from work. Other people prefer more than a single TB of space.

As for memory, the more the better, but realistically 16GB is the minimum for graphics work, and if you plan to keep this laptop for as long as you’ve had your iMac, I’d definitely opt for 32GB (and perhaps, 64GB).