What Software & Skills Should I Have

I have been a designer for over 15 years. However I have found recently while looking for a job that a lot of companies want so many more programs and skills than any one person could possibly know. I know Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign and some Acrobat as well as being familiar with Bridge. So my question is what Software and skills should I invest my time and money in learning.

I have always kept up to date on the things I am familiar with. I am looking to narrow down to the key things I need to get a new job. Below is a list of some of the things I have come across.

• After Effects
  • Social Media Management
  • Figma
  • HTML5 (I once knew HTML before 5)
  • Video Editing
  • Backend Website
  • Wordpress
  • Canva (really?)
  • Adobe XD
  • UX/UI
  • Maill chimp
  • Google Analytics
  • Dreamweaver
  • Java Script

The list goes on and on. Please help I have been trying to find a job for over a year but no one calls me back and my current company may fold any day.

Thanks,
Alex (Alexandra)

More and more companies are expecting designers to be a jack of all trades. I will also mention that more and more companies also list (sometimes) qualifications that they may desire, but don’t need, or don’t need someone to be an expert in.

Based on your list I’d say that there are postings for more video focused design (after affects, video editing) or web focused design (HTML5, Web coding, WordPress, Google Analytics, Dreamweaver, Java Script) and a little potential mobile/app/wireframe design (Figma, Adobe XD).

Sometimes there will be overlap, but IMO if a listing is more definitely a Video Design sort of a role, and you don’t have that background or knowledge, I would avoid it. Likewise with Web Design. However, if the role or position sounds more likely to be predominantly print design, with some web design or video design “support”, then it may work.