What time frame/ do you start designing?

I have an event that was 3-4 weeks out and I didn’t know what the theme was and now it is 1 week away and there is no mention of what the theme is.

I wont be making a flyer this time because my PC is kaput so unless they pay a company to make one quickly and send it out there just wont be a flyer. (this is a non-profit 1 day evening event and they are aware and fine w/not having a flyer this time)

All of this just made me wonder Is it possible/ or do you guys do mock ups of a design/layout for a flyer/event if you do not know what the theme is?

If so how do you go about making a theme/layout when you don’t know what the theme is?/

Any best practices for this type of situation?

Thanks in advance for insight!

I’m not sure I understand your situation. Are you a designer? You said your computer is “kaput,” and that they’ll need to pay someone to design it. This makes me wonder what your relationship is with this organization.

I’m a designer and usually pass on these kinds of jobs. If I had accepted it three or four weeks ago, I would have told them when I would need everything. If they first contacted me with a week to go before the deadline, there’s an even greater chance I would have turned it down.

Some jobs just don’t pay enough to make up for the headaches they cause. From what you described, this is one of them.

3 Likes

Hello, Thank you for your reply and information. Sorry for the confusion. No I am not a designer, I only do it for a church. I’ve posted a few things on here before of flyers for them in the past. Its volunteer work, never paid. Though I’m always trying to get better.

It made me wonder this time about timelines and if generally graphic designers do mockups/drafts to save for potential use down the road.