What type of collateral in marketing plan?

Hi, I’m a Graphic Designer operating in the midst of the pandemic a bit outside my comfort zone and have an opportunity for some design work but it involves a more helping come up with a more cohesive marketing plan with phases and I have never really come up with the plan to this extent before. It’s like, yea, you need brochure, website, social media, e newsletter, etc. but what all is typically included in a basic marketing plan? Is there a way for a graphic designer to sort of figure out the process to get to a point where I can just do the work? The client doesn’t really know what they need, and probably isn’t looking to spend a lot of money on a legit marketing wizard either. Looking for some thoughts here. Thanks!

Firstly, I would be fully transparent with your client and just say that it’s not your area of expertise, however that it’s a space you’re interested in growing more.

Then you’re going to need to learn about a lot of things designers aren’t taught, but that you’re perfectly positioned to help them with if you’re willing to put in the work and go outside your comfort zone and learn about.

Why do they think they need a marketing plan?
What is the issue they’re having and what are they trying to achive?

1 Like

Figuring out the plan is the work, as is implementing it.

Asking a graphic designer to develop a marketing plan is a bit like asking a photographer to plan a wedding. A photographer might be needed at the wedding, but they’re typically not wedding planners.

At my last two jobs, part of my title was that of marketing director, so I have a little experience there. It involves taking off one’s graphic design hat, looking at the bigger objective, then figuring out ways to achieve those objectives. This might involve social media, media buys, paid ads, social media, websites, events of one sort or another, billboards, photographers, press releases, podcasts, videos, etc.