What type of graphics design it is?

Hello everyone :slight_smile:
I’m new to this forum so I hope that „General” is not a wrong category for this topic. I’m also quite „new” to graphics design, I was doing it many years ago (+/-10 years) and it was mainly forum graphics such as avatars or signatures and I don’t really remember much from it. I only write this to show my experience with graphics so you can know how to deal with me. In simple words: I’m a beginner even though I had a bit of experience years ago.
As stated in the topics name I’m not sure what is the type of graphics design that I’m interested in. In simple words: I would like to modify or eventually after practice and study know how to create human skin. By that I obviously mean this „flat” image of skin that is applied to models or game characters. I don’t know how it’s professionally called. For example I like creating/rendering? scenes in DAZ3D with use of already bought characters from their store, but I would like to modify some of them to have a bit of uniqueness. Or I really like to play Sims 4, but I would like to create some unique characters by applying different looking „skins” to them. I’m not interested in making any profit in any of this. I want to treat this as some sort of hobby and create content for personal use or share it for free with others. I assume that this fall onto the category of 3D Graphics Design? But this is such a huge term hence why I’m here to ask for some sort of guidance. How can I approach this with the intent of modifying/creating skins? Literally, how do I start? What do I need to start practicing? What would be the „keywords” that I want to type in google? Because when I type „creating/modifying human skin” there’s nothing really that would explain that process fully. Is there any tutorial free or paid, it doesn’t matter, that would you recommend for me? Should I start with different type of graphics design so I could understand all of it better?