What would you do if you weren't a designer?

Let’s say you had to stop being a graphic designer. What sort of career would you pursue?

1 Like

I started out in college as a physics/astronomy major, then moved over to fine arts (sculpture), then into graphic design where I stayed.

I still have some regrets about not sticking with astronomy, and it’s continued to be a side thing for me. So if it weren’t for design, that’s likely where I would be.

Terry Bozzio’s drum tech.

2 Likes

Lottery winner.

2 Likes

It depends on the circumstances and timing and where I’m at in my life.

(Realistic)
Right now? Software Developer - I have a degree in C.S. and do a lot of contract programming, so this wouldn’t be too much of a jump.

(Not so realistic)
In the future? Illustrator for children’s books.

If I had to pick a career that I’ve never touched before, I suppose I would pick a career in data science.

In the past I had admirations of being an architect, veterinarian or an actor even. I realized I wasn’t suited for the repetitiveness of being a small animal vet and I did not want to be a large animal one. I never delved enough into architecture, but I suspect it could have been repetitive as well (being realistic that I wouldn’t be an award winning architect.) And while acting sounds fun, talk about a competitive industry and one that is full of disappointment.

‘Designer’ is a very very very broad term.

My whole entire life has been able to communicate via visual and textural and structural language of one form or another. Even before I came up through architecture I had designed my first creations in fashion … a line of winter coats … when I was just 21. At 27 I received my first architectural commendation. With graphic design I’ve been fortunate to speak of my closest concerns of … Stop War … Peace … Love.