What's your problem??

Hey!

Happy to be a part of this community! :slight_smile: I am an independent musician - not a graphic designer!

I am in the process of starting a channel offering help and advice for creative artists (graphic designers, photographers, videographers, musicians, etc) on how to use digital marketing techniques to build an audience and sell their artwork.

I am trying to get a better understanding of the typical problems that people in these industries face when trying to either build a following, or sell their artwork online.

So, my question to you is…

What is the biggest problem you face when marketing/selling your artwork online?

Thanks so much, your answers will help me to help people like you follow their dream :slight_smile:

Louis

There are countless websites, which creates a needle-in-a-haystack situation where any one designer’s website gets lost in the crowd. So the big problem there becomes finding ways to draw in the right kinds of visitors who might need what we have to offer. Unless a designer can find ways to land on the first or, maybe, second page of a Google search, the website is essentially invisible.

There are also lots of freelance sites that get lots of traffic from potential clients. Most are crowdsourcing/contest sites where designers sign up and compete for projects. The trouble with these sites is that they always end up as a biding war where unsophisticated clients hire bottom-dollar designers to produce mostly substandard work. In the end, everyone loses except the owner of the crowdsourcing sites who rake in profits from it all.

Hi Just-B - thanks so much for your response! I can see that being a big problem; standing out amongst the noise is one of the most difficult things to do when promoting yourself on the internet!