Where to start

Hello GD community!

I have plenty of experience as a Graphic Designer but have always been on the static, 2D side of things: print, flat digital artwork for social, web graphics, etc. I am quite familiar with CRMs and basic coding, but there are a few things I am missing to keep my career moving with the times.

I’ve done a lot of research and narrowed down the skills I need to learn and polish to make myself more marketable. However, since I have very limited time to dedicate to studying, I can only focus on one thing at a time.

My question is, for those of you who have had more experience navigating this side of the industry, where do I start? What should I put first, second, etc?

Here is what I need to master:
HTML/CSS/JS
Wordpress
UX/UI
Digital Marketing - I know this is not related to GD and I hate it, but being at least knowledgeable is highly useful

I am familiar with all of the above, but want to become “proficient”.

What are your thoughts? suggestions? I appreciate all of your feedback.

If you’re already familiar, the way to become proficient is to put those things you know into practice and figure out the problems you run into along the way.

For example, you could build a Wordpress site and dig into the template/theme structure to change the underlying code. Instead of just changing the built-in settings that come with the theme, actually recode those parts of the template you’re not happy with.

As for digital marketing not being especially relevant, I think it’s very relevant. It’s not exactly as though we’re all building websites and designing things just for fun. Most of it, in one way or another, is in the service of some kind of marketing effort.

1 Like

Thanks!
I’m familiar, but not familiar enough. I end up wasting a lot of time and energy.

1 Like