Which Is Best: Windows or Mac?

Hi everyone! I have just joined the community.
I am a young designer currently in my second year of studies. I wanted to ask your opinion on which device is better, especially in the field of graphic design. Which do you prefer, Windows or Mac?

No doubts!! MAC, you should go for MAC but it should be between 1,50,000(INR)-2,00,000(INR) range. Youā€™ll get a decent MAC with good configuration under this range.

@amitbassi Thanks so much for your feedback :smile:

Windows and Mac are operating systems, not devices, and neither one is ā€œbestā€.

I ran an in-house operation for years where we had to run both platforms, and through that experience I came to strongly prefer the Windows OS, again mostly due to the way Apple does things. Our Windows computers were much less trouble and much more adaptable. And, the hardware running Windows was much more cost effective.

Despite what seemingly everyone in the Graphic Design business will tell you, there is nothing magic or intangible about Mac hardware or software, that is, unless you find it enchanting to have all your decisions made for you. Since moving on from that in-house position, I have used Windows exclusively to no disadvantage whatsoever. Aside from cost and ongoing compatibility (both areas where Apple loses) there is no difference. Form your own preference based on your needs.

3 Likes

Where itā€™s coming down to a personal decision on my next home computer, there is really no choice but to drop Apple. A MacBook thatā€™s properly configured to handle the work I do at home is well over $4000 (yes three zeros.) That would be about the same config a top-notch designer would need too. Unless work wants to buy it for me, or I can figure out how to write it off my taxes as a 50% work tool, that probably is not going to happen. For the first time in over 40 years.

I definitely agree that Windows computers are much more cost-effective. Thank you for the feedback. :rainbow: