Which logo do i use for my OS?

Hello, i made a few logos for my MountainLight distro. It is supposed to be a light version of Linux Mint. I am working on the logo. I got some inspiration from the Cinnamon logo. I have some ideas. These are the ideas i have. Please not that I’m new to graphics desing.

What you have here are not four different ideas — they are four variations on one idea.

I am sorry to say that this is not working — in my opinion. It’s pretty bland. I think you need to go back to the drawing board and spend some more time brainstorming.

All I saw was a one-eyed figure with fangs.

2 Likes

These designs are so similar to the Nord VPN logo that you would be violating their copyrighted registered trademark.

Not at all. Don’t see any issue there

1 Like

oh my god how did i not notice

I don’t see an issue with nord any more than cinnamon. Possibly the Trademark Office might. But I doubt it.
Then there are all these generic logos from an online clipart logo maker

Do better.

Smart man!—But better to know it now, huh? And beat yourself up about it. It could happen to any of us.

And I for one, would not want to bet my money on it. Regardless, it’s better to start over in a new direction.

For something as important as an OS logo, I’d assume they’d run it by the Trademark office before implementation. But that’s an assumption. Three pointy triangles doesn’t even look close to either of the two mentioned logos, which actually look more like mountains.
I mean, put some color in those pointy triangles and this becomes a trademark infringement.
Screenshot 2023-04-28 at 1.06.05 PM

Don’t see any issue with it.

So the 4th one doesnt have copyright infringement. Is that what you mean?

Don’t think any of them do

Even if it didn’t, it still isn’t the best design for the project. It still needs a total makeover because I believe you can do better much better. Just my opinion. I wish you the best of success with it.