Which web/digital design tool is best to focus on?

Hello,

New to the group so please be patient.

My background is in corporate design, print and digital. For the last 5.5 years, I worked for a company that for not entirely bad reasons was behind in its digital game. I used Photoshop, Indesign and Illustrator to create digital mock-ups. I’m now looking for a new job. There seem to be a lot of opportunities for people who know Sketch or Figma. I’ve been studying Sketch, I don’t find it difficult but now I’m seeing it’s no longer all that favored. It’s also frustrating because I don’t believe staff designers often times have the responsibility of creating web pages from scratch. Are the jobs that want one role to include Indesign, Illustrator, Photoshop, Sketch, Figma, XD, Premiere Pro, and After Effects for real, or are they simply trying to find a unicorn at a time when a lot of people are willing to take any job because there aren’t many available? If I invest the time in learning a digital layout tool, which should I go with? I have the Creative Suite so I’m thinking XD but will it translate?

All of that software you list does different things with differing levels of complexity (both input and output).
By “digital layout tool” I’m guessing you mean website and UI design?

I don’t think there’s a specific recommendation that’s all-around better than another.

The very first website I built was back in the mid-90s for a daily newspaper. It was all hand-coding back then.

Today, twenty-some years later, what was reasonably simple has become needlessly complex to the point where it’s easier to build a robotic spacecraft to land on Mars than it is to build a website from scratch.

There are dozens of CMSs, frameworks, languages, pre-processors and various tools to do this and that and everything in between. I purposely avoid building websites any longer because the whole field is such a mess.