Work-life balance as a designer

Hi all!
I am currently on my final year of design school/university and have chosen to write a report on how designers go about balancing/integrating their work-life ethics and how much “effort” is “enough”.
Because I am a student, I have no past experience in the industry and I presume that being a professional in the design world is a tough thing.
I would like to know:
•How many hours a designer typically works per day/a typical routine.
•How much do designers think about their current projects they are working on and does this affect relationships with family, spouses, friends in any way? (Good and bad)
•How much overtime work do you think you are doing and would you personally consider overtime work as a good thing?

It would be great if you can reply to my question with your thoughts on the work-life balance/integration as personal as possible.

Thanks so much!!! :):grin:

There are no “typical” designer hours. Sure you can probably land a 9-5 job or set your own freelance hours, but there will always come the day there is a project that requires you do more than 8 hours in one day in order to get it done in time. Some projects, like a store opening or a tradeshow have hard due dates that you cannot change. It’s called a “drop dead” due date for a reason. You work it until either it’s done or you drop dead trying. (it also applies to what a printer might tell you, if your files are too late for output in time for your due date.)

In my weird little corner of the industry, we deal with designers in different time zones, some as close as 1 hour difference and some on the other side of the world. It is usually the designer that gets to pull the weird hours that make the necessary communication happen. It’s also the designer that get stuck when things come down to the wire, all the content isn’t decided until the last minute, or something goes horribly awry with print files.

You decide how you want your career to play out.