Working with the writers magazine

As a junior designer, I don’t have a lot of magazine designing experience and I’m curious to hear more from the seasoned designers.

What’s the best way to communicate /recieving feedback with the writers inhouse while you’re designing the magazine? I’m talking about the process:

example:

• minor mistakes/changes in text, mostly the writers point out the text they wanna change and I edit it directly in Indesign.

However isn’t this very risky? Why not edit the text in the original document? (even the mistakes are minor?)

We tried sticky notes in adobe acrobat for pointing out mistakes or just comments
…but that method of communcating with sticky notes isn’t working for me because it becomes messy very fast.

For now we just sit together and edit the text in Indesign directly. But I think that consumes way too much time from both sides and perhaps there is a better method to do this.

I’m gonna communicate the writers about this, they are very open for other suggestions. Maybe you guys have ideas so I can present it to them how to work better together.

Love to hear suggestions.

have a nice weekend

The Adobe CC solution to this problem is InCopy.

1 Like

Establish a single point of contact and everything goes through this person. I would imagine there’d be a chief writer/editor?

Adobe InCopy, as @HotButton HotButton said, is Adobe’s solution. I’ve been in several publishing situation where it’s worked reasonably well. The writers/editors make changes to the text in InCopy on their computer and those changes are reflected into the final InDesign document without you, the designer, needing to get involved. Everything is tied to a database, so it’s all reasonably seamless. The writers and editors can see in InCopy how their text changes affect the layout, as in whether or not the story is too long or two short.