Worries about my design project

Hello guys

I am a design student and I have this big project that requires research and user testing. The thing is, I am a bit anxious about this. I will have to do many new things and I am not sure if I can manage. I will need to talk to experts in some fields and I will need to communicate with families and children to test my design a few times once it’s developed and after every iteration.

I have never done user testing before, nor did I contact experts for more than once before (It was suggested that I keep in touch with them throughout the whole process)

I am really anxious. I am worried about not asking right questions or if the whole design and research would go to waste. Like, what if I didn’t know what I was doing? I have many other worries, but they stem from my perfectionism and anxiety. I think the major problem I am having now is communicating with the people. If I didn’t know what to do, or if I got stuck, I will be the one responsible for hindering everything, and there is no one to push me forward since it’s not a group project.

Anyways, away from all that, if you can you give me a glimpse on how these processes usually go or what to expect, or any tips on managing the project, it would hopefully help me.

You did a good job mentioning how anxious you are about this project. However, you didn’t mention what this project is, what kinds of experts you need to talk to, why you need to involve families and children, or what kind of user testing is needed. :slightly_smiling_face:

Anxiety over being pushed out of one’s comfort zone is normal. As a student, if I had been assigned to do what you described, I would have been anxious, too.

Many “experts” in many fields are very willing to help serious students such as yourself. This is partly because every expert was once a beginner who also needed to learn, ask questions, and push through their anxiety.