How could I make this magazine spread better?

Hello!
I am a student, beginning to learn InDesign techniques to create magazine spreads.
Any critiques would be greatly appreciated, thanks for your help!

After a quick glance, I would suggest making the copy less scattered. Don’t make the reader have to jump or guess where the next paragraph starts – make it easy. I’m speaking specifically about the second spread first page where the two images meet. Would it work better if the images were side by side? Do you even need two images of woman holding fruit?

Also, never underestimate the power of white space. You don’t always have to fill the entire spread. Maybe you could open it up by removing the bold green bars between each section. You already have separation with the orange type.

Best of luck.

1 Like

Every so often, we get a student asking us to critique a magazine spread. While your spread isn’t at pro-level (which I wouldn’t expect from a student), I would say it’s better than a lot of what we see.

– Make DETROIT’S, GOOD, FOOD, and CURE all the same width.

– General comment on both spreads would be that the text feels heavy. Maybe that’s just the rendered JPEG. Consider reducing the size of the body copy (leave the leading where it is at first and see how that looks). You might also look for a visually lighter font.

– Subhead on the intro spread seems crowded. Reduce the size and give it a little more leading. What if the green bar were taller and you reversed the headline out of it? Also, have the green bar wider so that it overlaps the photo for a bit of visual interest. Respect the grid, but it’s okay to bust the grid when it’s called for.