ISO Insights on design improvements

I have a good friend who worked for many years in marketing and product placement/development. He and i were kicking around some ideas for brands built around a specific location. The idea is to build a following of locals and fans of the area. Creating a logo and product line that local residents would like to be identified with and by.

We live in Roane County, Tennessee.

I’ve started developing a line around the slogan, “There’s No Place Like Roane”. I put together the attached logo and would like some advice on it.

There are numerous things I don’t like about it, but I cant really “see” what they are, let alone what the solutions might be.

I’m not a graphic designer or marketer, so I wanted to reach out to y’all to get some input.

Thanks so much! Now…

Lemme have it!!

To my eye, there is a disconnect between the style of the illustration and the style of the type. That needs to be corrected before addressing any of the other things I could nitpick about.

2 Likes

Other things you can work on:

1. Kernings
  2. Apostrophe
1 Like

The apostrophe jumped out at me too.
I’m also curious how the name relates to the business though. It seems more an advertisement for the town/county rather than a maker shop. And it’s a very long name. What might people shorten it to and still be talking about your business?

1 Like

Mechanically, I’d say your search for the right font(s) isn’t over yet. If Roane is set with serifs and flourishes, a sans serif look might be better for There’s no place like. (And, I think sentence case would be more appropriate than title case.)