A tent card

Hello people. I’m back after a long break. Thought I should do some work and come back when I have something to show for it. I’ve been interning at a design studio for a few months. Recently I was asked to work on a tent card for a company that works on sustainable energy – LED bulbs etc. The card is supposed to be a moral/ethical guide for the leader and her team within the company. My brief was to stay away from anything related to what the company does since the staff already know what they do. So, I worked on a generic leader/teamwork idea. I have already received some feedback on it, and I know that there is primarily a problem with the execution of the concept. But it’ll be great to get some more so I can figure out how to rework it.

tent%20card_back tent%20card_front

How and where will the tent card be used? At an event?

Just a cursory pass at it…

• Not sure I like the background elements. Is there meaning in those…things?
  • While I understand making the check-boxes each a different color in an attempt to breathe some life into it, I also disagree with doing so.
  • That might not be Comic Sans, but it might as well be Comic Sans. Maybe that’s not a bad thing. Maybe it is.

The copy could use some massaging.

• “Help others succeed in their job.” in their job is superfluous.
  • “Listen and provide constructive feedback to others.” to others is superfluous.
  • “Strive towards making others and myself better.” It’s best to avoid using the ‘s’ at the tend of ‘toward’ but it also isn’t right following ‘strive.’ You can’t ‘strive toward’ you must ‘strive to.’ ‘make . . . better’ is also too non-specific. I’d rewrite this whole line.
1 Like