Branding for Custom Picnic Business

Hello all! I’m a fairly new designer interested in focusing on branding and I am currently working on projects I can use to showcase in my portfolio.

I designed this branding for my friend’s custom picnic business called Miapicnics. co. She has been running this small business for about a year now so I didn’t want to suggest any changes with the name.

The main service that the business provides is creating a custom picnic experience in the client’s location of choice. They are able to select add ons such as food and a photoshoot. This business is intended for all ages but most of her clients tend to be in the 20s-30s age range.

The style of her picnics lean more towards the boho style and that’s what I wanted to stick to for the branding.

I would love to get your feedback on this project.

(Pictures posted out of order)

I have mixed feelings about this.

On one hand, there’s a lot to like. The color choice is elegant and classy and adds a feeling of luxury and opulence. The typeface also does this, while still having a quirky personality to it, although I’m not sure if the quirky nature sits well the luxury/opulent angle.

On the other hand, it doesn’t feel wholly like the right direction for the company.

The company does seem like it is providing a luxury service, it’s good to convey that. But it also seems like a business that revolves around the personal touch (i.e. they are going to make a picnic that is just for me). And I don’t really get that aspect from your design. It looks a bit too corporate (especially the MP logo which feels like something from a solicitor). Picnics are supposed to be fun, and I don’t really get the message of fun from your work.