Can someone critique my portfolio?

Hey guys! I am currently looking for a new job, preferably at a firm that designs in a wide range of design mediums. I am currently a junior designer working at a small print shop. I am interested in digital design and I know a little Figma but have no portfolio-worthy digital design pieces.

I feel like there are a lot of job positions that I am interested in want to see some digital work. I am concerned that I am at a disadvantage because I don’t have digital centered-work to show. In addition, every portfolio project except for one is student work.

Portfolio: lioramoshman .com (I couldn’t add a link on here for some reason so I had to put a space before “.com”)

The forum doesn’t allow links for new people. It’s a spam deterrent.
You’ve hit the forum at about 630 pm EST. Most people in the US are off work for the weekend and the people in Europe are in bed.
So give it some time. Things are slow around here on the weekends.

3 Likes

The issue I am finding is that it’s not clear what is student work and what is actual work.
I looked through the portfolio and thought - wow that’s pretty professional and neat.
Then I saw you mention your company - so I checked out their website, and their portfolio work on their site is nowhere near as good as yours.

This brings up red flags. What in the portfolio is real, why is the work better than the work posted on the company website.

Separting your portfolio into real-life vs student work would help take the sting out of doing all the research - it’s more up front and honest. Which makes it easier to say
Hey they worked on this real life project
Hey they did this in college and it looks good.

When I look a portfolio I’m not looking at it to say ‘WOW’ look what this person did.
I look to see what this person didn’t do.

You’ve got so many good points going on - but the subtext of the presentation form is offputting.
In the fact that I can’t discern what is real and what is not.