Combatting Self Doubt

Hello.

This is a fairly vague, moany one. Not sure what forum to ask this question on so I’m just going to ask it here.

I’ve been a designer for nearly 16 years and yet I still don’t regard myself as anywhere near as confident as most designers I meet. To be fair, I’m sure most of it is bravado but I often wonder if any of them are plagued by the same self doubt that I so frequently feel crippled by.

Call it ‘imposter syndrome’ or whatever, but it feels as if I’m constantly seeking approval for work I undertake and I very rarely get that approval. I mean, obviously I get paid for the jobs I do but I constantly fear that I’ll be replaced and I wonder what my actual qualities are.

I don’t get criticised much either I should say, but I sometimes get the feeling that this is more a case of people not wishing to say anything to my face than anything else.

I guess I’m just wondering if any of you have ever felt like this and what you did to combat it. And to the designers who have total self-belief - how do you maintain that?

Thanks, and sorry for the whine.

JM

3 Likes

Do you have any way of capturing statistics? Did your designs bring in more clicks, increase sales, increase foot traffic, create interest in the product? That goes a long way toward showing whether or not your design work was a success.

Do your clients recommend you to others? They wouldn’t do that if they didn’t like your work.

1 Like

reading this pretty much sounded like me talking to myself :speak_no_evil:

2 Likes

That’s good advice actually. Very practical, thank you. There are ways to quantify it I suppose. I think I’d just love to be able to instinctively know that what I’m producing is ‘good’.

You have no idea how encouraging it is to hear that others feel the same! Thank you.

1 Like

Time and experience are the best change agents. You’ll be all right.

1 Like