Critique for student magazine design

Hey, guys!
I’m a college student in need of some critiquing for a magazine design assignment. The article is meant for millennials who are working professionally and seeking advice for achieving success. Any feedback is welcome! Thanks in advance.

1 Like

Your layout demonstrates some reasonable levels of page structure sense, but the typesetting is too pedestrian to produce the desired effect. That effect is to draw the reader into the article, of course. So first, you’ve got a which-road-to-choose? theme going on in the photos, and that’s well and good, but that third one is uninteresting, obvious space filler, and a clear indication that you rode the concept just a bit too hard. The first two would be enough.

Getting rid of that third photo will free up some space and allow you to install some type treatments to make this more inviting and easier to digest. Some things to consider:

The lead-in: It’s a common tactic because it works. It’s weak to begin an article in the type style that will be used as body type throughout. If that first paragraph (and perhaps the first sentence of the second), was set apart, larger than the body type, and positioned so that the reader almost can’t avoid reading it, you’d hook a lot more readers into staying engaged for the whole thing.

The subheads: Also a lead-in tactic. Again here, yours aren’t set apart enough. A different font, different weight, some space after, etc., would go a long way toward making those subheads much more effective “mileposts” for the reader. The way you’ve set them, same font only 1 or 2 points larger, leaves them ineffective.