Critique on album cover

Hello beautiful design people!
I have designed this album cover for a French rapper. He wanted to use a family photo, have traditional Berber patterns and elements, and have this blue colour. His album is called Azul which is hello in north africa and blue in spanish. His music talks a lot about political issues.
This is my first try at doing something on 99designs since I’m still learning as a designer, but I made it past the preliminary round so I was pleasantly surprised! Thanks to everyone who takes the time to look at my work and comment. Your feedback is truly making me a better designer :slight_smile: 29%20PM

Honestly, I think there is a bit of a disconnect between type and image. Both look plonked in to the space to fill it up, rather than having a balanced relationship to each other. This is something you will learn over time with the right experience and mentors.

My big issue is with these sort of 99designs kind of websites. People who should still be learning are offering their services as professionals. It means the customer is not getting the best job. Then again, they aren’t paying top dollar. It just becomes a race to the bottom.

Not having a go at you personally. We all have to start somewhere. I just think this is not the best way to start a career. You will always end up bottom-feeding on lower end jobs, instead of learning from the best and doing quality work.

1 Like

Hey, I agree with what you said I had if so they were slightly overlapping with different proportions but the artist asked me to do it like this so I changed.