Critique on Procreate illustration with Design Elements

(https://folio.procreate.art/stuckinthe90s)

Okay, hopefully this now works. I had posted earlier and could not find a way for the image to upload.
The link above should do the trick!

Hello,

I am looking for a critique on a project I completed for my portfolio.
This is not for a client and all work you see is my original work with some inspiration.
I am creating a portfolio with the goal of becoming a freelance children’s book illustrator.

A couple of things I am aware of: Kerning can be better, shadow and light can be better as well. I am unsure about if this project will print well but it will be for a web portfolio.

This is my first project in a long time and I learned so much about Procreate in making this piece. Most of the mistakes I made I have improved or changed in the pieces that followed this project.

I would prefer critiques from illustrators but of course all are welcome as there are elements of design and layout and the forum is open.

Please keep in mind I don’t own a heavy sweater. I can take honest sharing of what I should do instead but just blatant deconstructive criticism I don’t handle well so please, teach me something, tell me how but present me with an opportunity to reach my fullest potential.

Gracias.

1 Like

Your illustrations are all kinds of fun. I really like them a lot.

You might try improving the edges of the organic items a bit. You’ve made an effort in those directions, but where the edges should look rounded, they just sort of cut off as though they’re cut out of paper and pasted in. This is especially noticeable with the green seaweed. Some edges look great, like the bottom of the seaweed, but the top edges are just sudden and abrupt, as though you cut them out with scissors instead of making them look like truly 3D shapes in a 3D space.