Critique this Magazine Spread

Hey guys! I’m a design student in a print publishing class (no professional or anything) and need some critique on this magazine spread assignment. Feel free to give me all the honest feedback! I’ll happily take any advice that will help to improve the design.

Here’s the design brief.

Message: One can still have a positive experience while riding a bike during bad weather.

Audience: College students located in an area where there is seasonal rain and snow. They live close enough to school/work that they don’t need a car, but too far to walk, so their bike is their main method of transportation.

Use: Printed in an on-campus magazine.

I have three suggestions.

• Emphasize the bad weather a lot more, visually. The current effect is pretty cheerful and sunny, which may or may not be your intention. Storm clouds, more obvious rain, snowflakes, maybe feature a raincoat, or waterproof panniers, etc.

• Edit the verbiage for the college student market. More bullets, briefer, easier and faster to read.

• The yellow headers are almost invisible, and they’re crucial. I’d suggest a dark color, and a non-script font.

1 Like

I recommend making the opening spread more cohesive, not so “left page” and “right page.” It could be something as simple as carrying the background across both pages, perhaps even “gradating” from bad to better weather.

The bike going off the lefthand page and then off the righthand page feels like it should be the opposite: going “into” the spread." But the page numbers are throwing me off. You’ve presented them as spreads, but even numbers fall on lefthand pages and odd on the right. Did you intend to have the article start on a righthand page, then have numbered pages 2 and 3 as the inside spread, or did you maybe just misnumber the pages?