Depression? I barely know her

Hi my name is Mery,

I got a graphic design diploma 10 years ago and graduated as a photographer 4 years ago, both with high scores yet I have never been active in both ‘‘careers’’. I have done a few projects that mostly stayed in the family, nothing I can say was worth getting a degree for.

Most of my peers have given up their career path to be mothers, bartenders or move on to learn java language, so talking to them about art became a ‘‘what’s the point’’ moment. I kept up with art, photography and networking trends from the internet instead of a community. Nothing gave me the sense of purpose or a trusted guide line (everyone is different and not every experience is share by many). This plus some personal issues, fuelled up the feeling of emptiness, loneliness, feeling of being a boring person and the feeling that I would never going to make something out of myself.

Then 2020 happened.
I approached a therapist and she (and my personal situation that changed) encouraged me to get back to my basics. I drew everyday for a year (no, my sketchbooks are not like those you find on youtube) and slowly got back to creating and being excited about learning adobe software’s, UI design and Blender (only for floor plans at the moment). It felt very rewarding - mood wise.
This boost helped because, in February, 2021 I was made redundant due to Covid-19 staff cleanse. 2019 me would have gone crazy and I would have applied for customer service jobs. Instead, I have been working 9 to 5 on my portfolio with the hopes of finding a paid job and people with my same interests.
It has been a wild ride - if the ride was 2 feet tall- I can not wait to share what I have done with you and see if I have imposter syndrome or I simply suck.

Have any of you been through similar experience? and if so are you working on it or is it still eating you inside?
How do you approach a possible client knowing you have been out of your game for so long?

:v:t4:
-MAD