DIY website builders - Yes, No & Why?

I’m in a need to use one of the DIY website builders. I have few customers that need very simple and small websites, that don’t want to pay a lot.

Therefore, I decided to try some website builder, in order to create their website quicker and charge them less.

I did my research but I would like to hear someones experience.

Do you have experience with some?

1 Like

I tried SquareSpace and quite honestly I had a hard time with it. Particularly in resizing and formatting the gallery images of my work.

Ultimately I ended up going with Wix. I’m not a web designer, so the site is far from perfect. But it was much easier for me to use.

Wordpress. Fast, and lots of toys and useful plugins.

Well now that Squarespace, Wix, and Wordpress have been mentioned, I’ll expose my inexperience with this type of platform and ask how these and any others you know about rank among the field in feature depth, learning curve, etc.

Here’s what I mean:
It’s my (possibly mistaken) impression that Wordpress, for example, is a feature-rich platform, suitable for pro-level business-capable output when a CMS is appropriate; whereas the likes of Wix and Squarespace are more ‘consumer-level,’ anyone-makes-their-own discreet infosite tools. So if you were to compile a ranking in this context with Wordpress high on the list and Wix near the low end, where would others land?

Just my point of view, of course, but getting totally comfortable with Wordpress or, in my case, Joomla, is a better way to go than a drag-and-drop site builder. There are thousands of very flexible frameworks and templates available that, once you know how, can easily be worked with and modified to meet the client’s needs with no more trouble than the site builder sites. Plus this CMS approach allows a designer much more flexibility in the form of add-ons and custom modifications than do any of the build-it-yourself or drop-and-drag websites.