Does this industrial design stand a chance?

Ok so I study business for my undergrad but Im a designer at heart. I taught myself things like Photoshop, Rhino and V-Ray. I won a few awards from my other designs, but I really want to win a Red Dot. It would look great on my resume when applying for industrial design jobs. The only issue is that the submission is expensive… around $400.
I can never tell if my designs are good or not. I made it for a startup that ended up failing. But the concept is a smart smoke detector that connects to your phone. It can alert you from anywhere of any smoke/CO and you can also conduct sensor tests and view battery levels from your phone. Anything to change? Or is it just not worth submitting to the Red Dot Design Concept Award?

www.dropbox.c om/sh/mix4hmwcmpkeigc/AACqKnnLKyDCjqO4D1_KYZE0a?dl=0

I’m no expert in industrial design, but I like it a lot. It’s very elegant, and I would buy if it was affordable.

However, is it a design award winning work? I’m not sure what the criteria is for red dot, but it doesn’t seem like it stands out above the crowd in any way. It’s not original in a way that would make want to seek out this product and share it with my friends. It’s just a solid product.

Also, from a practical standpoint, don’t you need the product to be real to be submitted to an industrial design award?

1 Like

The design and renderings look nice, but I’d question the black ring. My hunch is that most consumers want their smoke detector to blend in rather than stand out. The black ring, while it looks cool in the renderings, makes it stand out.