Feedback on My Magazine Spread

I would love any feedback on my magazine spread I created. I’m new to graphic design and appreciate any input!

The first page (top left) is part of the article? If not, it has no business on that page.

Folio is awkward. It should be clear of the copy area. Furthermore, customarily left-hand pages are even numbers and right-hand are odd numbers. Positioning is even more awkward: They should be on the outside of the page.

On (your) p.2, the byline should be more prominent, preferably centred. Not sure why a date is there. Does it serve any purpose? The copy crossing the width of the page is, you guess it, awkward.

I hope the cutlines are placeholders because they are just stating the obvious.

There are simple ways to make all columns line up without leaving gaping patch at the end.

1 Like

You mentioned being a beginner. Are you a student? Is this a class assignment? If it’s an assignment, is there a brief you can share? Background information helps to know where you’re at in your journey and what the parameters of the problem might be.

I’ll assume you’re a beginning student, and this is a class assignment.

Over the years, I’ve designed dozens of magazines and other publications. It’s sort of my specialty area and the field where I did my graduate work, so with that in mind…

First, your layouts are better than most student magazine layouts posted here. You’ve established a nice three-column grid, inserted a nice pull-out quote, used a nice illustration (Is it your illustration?), and, in general, created a nice, balanced composition using all the elements.

Getting down into the weeds, though, there are a few things I would have done differently, as well as a few things I think you’ve overlooked or assumed were unimportant.