Font advice for secondary font

Hi, I’m an old retired graphic designer (it’s been more than 10 years, my design joints are cracking :smiley:).

I’m not the freshest with my design skills anymore. I’ve designed this cover for a book I am writing, but I somehow don’t like the font choice for the subtitle “A powerful philosophy on how to level up your sex & relationships” (WIP text) on the bottom

At first, I thought a bit of contrast with a more classical font would work, but I’m somehow just not feeling it. I feel like it doesn’t work, or am I wrong?

Do you think it’s just the wrong serif-type font, or is the general mix of serif/sans-serif not good? Should I rather try to make it work with a sans serif font?

Have you got 3 or 4 fonts there?

I’d simplify the number of fonts being used.

1 Like

Despite the cracking design joints :grinning:, I’m thinking it looks pretty good. However, I’m seeing the same issue as you regarding the type. It’s a subtle problem, but yeah, it’s there.

The subhead is pushed so far to the bottom that it no longer visually appears to be a subhead and, instead, looks like a bit of extra type. Setting the type in an italic serif face that looks similar to a text face might even further the impression of it being some extra explanatory type rather than a subhead.

In addition, your use of two typefaces for the main headline tends to initially suggest that The Alpha King Within is the subhead.

You didn’t ask about this, but I’m also wondering about that thick black border. It looks good, but it’ll cause a serious trim problem. If the trim is more than a couple of points off in any direction — which will likely be the case — it will be very noticeable.

2 Likes

Yep, it’s 3 fonts. The brushed font, the sans-serif for the rest, and the serif font for the subtitle.

I’m thinking maybe it should all be sans-serif fonts, perhaps I just need a slightly different sans-serif font for the subtitle. Perhaps something that’s not narrow.