General criticism

So I’m very new to graphic design , I’ve started learning about it about a month ago and been doing research , learning to sketch things like that , & I recently got a laptop and wanted to do a quick logo design to see if moving in the right direction as far is creating logos

I wanted to start off simple so I just created a logo for the nba team Cleveland Cavaliers

I just want to know if it’s not bad for a first logo or if I am way off lol

Thanks for any feedback

Learn to kern.

1 Like

If this is your first ever logo, I would say you did a fine job for just getting started.

a 3 Color logo could could run into some costly print expenses if the art were to be printed offset/spot color.
It’s also not going to convert well to 1 color black in it’s current state.

It’s also not very ‘athletic’ in nature for an NBA team. Their current logo looks ‘sporty’ and has a graphic element that reflects their name - The sword, represents the weapon of a mounted cavalry soldier or cavalier.
Your graphic reminds me of a radio station logo, or a news team - or a corporate firm of some-kind.

You created this in Adobe Illustrator?

1 Like

Thanks for the feedback , I see what you mean & no i did it on Inkscape , basically a free version of illustrator

Designing a logo for a professional sports franchise is not simple. Simple would be a neighborhood dry cleaner or a friend’s blog. As an exercise to learn the software, this is fine; but as a logo for an NBA team, it isn’t working.

1 Like

Yeah I agree now after reading what you guys have said , it doesn’t look like a sports logo at all , thanks for the feedback

1 Like

So I should’ve spaced the words differently?

Many sports logos use outlined type.

Space the letters differently.

1 Like

Yeah I originally wanted to have the letters outlined but I couldn’t figure out how to do it with the software , it kept coming out uneven , but yeah I agree