Has Covid affected your industry?

Hi everyone, as a graphic design student. I’ve done some research, but I’m curious. Has Covid affected your business or your work? If so, how?

I’m sure everyone will have a different answer. I’m an in-house designer. The only affect it has had is that I now work remote full-time until at some later date my boss and I determine I need to be back in the office. I will say we also had to let a few people go due to finances, but all in all other than working remotely, not much has changed.

1 Like

Thanks for the response! It’s good to hear not much has changed other than that one thing. Sad to hear about the ones who have lost their jobs though.

1 Like

I have another question, if I’m too forward you can ignore it.
I’m doing my college online and I’m from a small town. When I am done with my schooling, would it be wise to move to a bigger town where more work is presentable or can I manage where I’m at?

I’m in New Zealand where we had 50 days of lockdown starting end of March. All businesses were closed except essentials like hospitals and supermarkets. Everyone switched to working from home. If your job wasn’t able to be done this way, you did admin. People found admin work to do and this often included some form of design. I was already working from home as freelancer so this didn’t change anything for me.

Where I am, we haven’t had any lockdown since May but many businesses have been more flexible about their staff working from home. Many of my clients are now working from home, even though they don’t have to. Working from home has meant many businesses are pivoting their businesses and for me that has meant new projects including new retail ranges for online shopping, and rebranding jobs. My clients have more time to do admin around their business. More time to think of new products, more time to work on rebranding.