Hello, and I have a question for you guys - help!

Hi everyone at GDF. I’m not a graphic designer (drawing is part of my private time :smiley: ) but I have a question: What sort of graphic designers/companies do you think will find use for an automatic background removal tool like remove.bg?

My company launched something similar (ImageMatting.com if anyone’s interested) and because the AI is geared especially towards product photos for ecommerce and isn’t 100% perfect for everything, my boss wants me to find Photoshop users who are able to use our plugin for Photoshop to finetune the automated results.

I’m sorry if this is the wrong place to post this; it’s probably like asking a chicken where is KFC, but I have zero experience in marketing and am totally lost at what is be asked of me. Shuffled from my original job and made to do this because I’m the only native English speaker in my Japanese company… :expressionless:

Anyway, I know Photoshop and I like to think I know how to appreciate and critique art, so I hope I’ll be able to help someone if feedback is wanted.

1 Like

It would obviously be useful for businesses selling products online or that compile product catalogs. I used to work for a manufacturer that did both and all of our staff pitched in on image clipping.

I’ll bookmark the page and try to give it a test sometime over the next week. Are you looking for any particular feedback? Do you want me to share my thoughts here, via email, or in another way?

What part of Japan are you in? I visited in 2015 and fell in love. My husband and I are hoping to visit again in the next 1-2 years.

1 Like

Thank you so much @mist for your feedback!
I’ll try to look for manufacturers that might be interested in it. It’ll be really helpful to have a third party’s opinion so I’ll be thrilled if you can share your opinion about it here. Or you can message me at quek.yingtong @ kirinuki.jp.